OpenAssistant teams have two options for managing credits across their users:
Per User or Per User + Pool Overflow.
This gives organizations flexibility to either manage each user's credits individually or maintain a shared pool that can cover additional usage across the team.
Per User
With Per User credit management, each user receives the credit allocation included with their individual seat.
Each user's balance is separate. If a user runs out of credits, an admin can add additional credits to that user's account as needed.
This option gives admins more direct control over how additional credits are distributed across the team.
Per User + Pool Overflow
With Per User + Pool Overflow, each user still receives the credit allocation included with their seat.
Users draw from their individual allocation first. If a user runs out of their individual credits, they can automatically begin drawing from the organization's shared team credit pool.
For example, if one team member has a particularly busy month and uses their entire individual allocation, they can continue working using credits from the shared pool without requiring an admin to add credits specifically to their account.
Pooled team credits
Admins can purchase additional credits for the shared team pool.
Unlike the credits included with each user's subscription, purchased pooled credits roll over from month to month. They remain available to the team as long as the organization's subscription remains active.
This can be useful for teams where usage varies between users or from month to month.
Which option should I choose?
Per User is a good option if you want to manage additional credit usage individually and have more control over which users receive additional credits.
Per User + Pool Overflow is useful if you want users to be able to continue working automatically when they exceed their individual allocation, while sharing additional credits across the organization.
For general information about credit usage, balances, top-offs, and task effort, see
